He plays a sport dominated by exactness and a long tradition of honor and truth and rule adherence — and pro golfer Cameron Tringale found himself facing a possibility he couldn’t shake.
But along with the cash, Tringale also had a guilty conscience.
His was a momentary, miniscule miscue — if it happened at all. He’s not even sure.
But all the same Tringale, 26, felt he may have missed a stroke when attempting to tap in the ball on the 11th hole last Sunday, noted Yahoo Sport of UK and Ireland. Thing is the possible missed stroke never made it on his scorecard — and Trinangle signed the scorecard.
So he told officials what was on his mind — knowing full well the consequences.
“Realizing that there could be the slightest doubt that the swing over the ball should have been recorded as a stroke, I spoke with the PGA of America and shared with them my conclusion that the stroke should have been recorded,” he noted to Yahoo Sport.
More from Yahoo Sport:
Nobody saw it. The man himself isn’t even sure whether he did it or not. He’s not even sure if it should have counted as a stroke or not, since it’s a grey area as to whether or not he had actually addressed the ball to make his stroke (and if you’ve not addressed the ball to try and hit it, there is no penalty).
But signing an incorrect scorecard means a disqualification — and bye bye to his prize money.
Bye bye to prize money, hello to moral clarity and the sacrifice that goes at times with putting it on display.
Hats off to Cameron Tringale, may more rise up like him.